Board of Directors

The Board members contribute strategically to the direction of the United Way by reviewing organizational performance against our vision and mission. The board is representative of a cross-section of our community. Members are recruited annually, usually after having already supported the work of the organization in some significant capacity.

The composition of the board is diverse reflecting age, gender, race, background and perspective (business and community). Members serve three year terms which can be renewed. The board meets six times a year.

  • John Rogers, Board Chair +

    John Rogers, Board Chair

    Partner, Stewart McKelvey

  • Monica Foster, Vice Chair & Audit & Finance Chair +

    Monica Foster, Vice Chair & Audit & Finance Chair

    Vice President, Administrative Services, Nova Scotia Community College

  • Jean-Michel Blais +

    Jean-Michel Blais

    Chief of Police, Halifax Regional Police

  • Max Chauvin +

    Max Chauvin

    Manager, Dartmouth Sportsplex

  • Mike Christie +

    Mike Christie

    Vice President Human Resources, Halifax Airport Authority

  • Monique Fares +

    Monique Fares

    CEO, Signature Health

  • April Howe +

    April Howe

    Partner, Knightsbridge Robertson Surrette

  • Asa Kachan +

    Asa Kachan

    CEO, Halifax Public Libraries

  • Joanne Keigan +

    Joanne Keigan

    VP, Administration and Advisory Services, Customer Experience, Cnd. Div., Manulife

  • Paul Kent +

    Paul Kent

    Community Volunteer

  • Tracy Kitch +

    Tracy Kitch

    President & CEO, IWK Health Centre

  • Sara Napier +

    Sara Napier

    President & CEO, United Way Halifax

  • Patrick O'Regan +

    Patrick O'Regan

    President, O'Regan's Automotive Group

  • Claudette Porter +

    Claudette Porter

    Vice President of Finance, Emera

  • Belinda Smith, Community Impact Committee Chair +

    Belinda Smith, Community Impact Committee Chair

    Director, Lands and Economic Development, Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada

  • Brad Smith +

    Brad Smith

    Executive Director, Mainland Nova Scotia Building & Construction Trades Council

  • Capt(N) Chris Sutherland +

    Capt(N) Chris Sutherland

    Base Commander, CFB Halifax

  • DeRico Symonds +

    DeRico Symonds

    Program Manager for HRM Youth Advocate Programs and the Souls Strong Program

  • Craig Thompson +

    Craig Thompson

    Senior Vice President, Atlantic Region, Scotiabank

  • Nancy Tower, Chair, Strategic Fundraising Cabinet +

    Nancy Tower, Chair, Strategic Fundraising Cabinet

    Chief Corporate Development Officer, Emera

  • Wyatt White +

    Wyatt White

    Director of Mi’kmaq Services, Nova Scotia Department of Education and Early Childhood Development

  • 1